Love in the City of Paris

I set out on this journey looking to experience good food, fine art and romantic love which to me embodied the spirit of Paris. And as you have read, every expectation about food was met over and over again. But did I find love you might ask. The answer is yes, but just not where I expected it to be.

During a very romantic dinner at Eiffel 58 restaurant I found love. There was an older American couple seated at the table next to us which was near enough that we could hear each others conversations . At one point we heard the man say to the woman, “I wish I had met you when I was younger”. He was a lot older than her and had met her at this late stage in life and they had fallen in love. Now his heartfelt wish was that they had more time together. It was one of the most romantic things I had ever heard a man say to a woman.

The closest I got to romantic love was when these half wilted tired looking roses were thrust into my hands by a very slick street vendor with my friend obliged to pay ten Euro for them. To do otherwise would have gone against the spirit of the night. And I wasn’t complaining; it  was only the second time in my life that I had received red roses and I didn’t care how I got them.

I found love in the Paris Metro when we came upon this String Ensemble playing beautiful music. It truly gladdened the hearts of those walking past and put a spring in their step. For a moment in time, people of all different backgrounds were united as one through the magic of music. It reminded me of the young woman playing her violin outside the French Embassy in Wellington the day I went to apply for my visa. I had just been  granted the visa when I had expected it to take 10 days and I couldn’t contain my excitement as I rang my friend to tell him the news. The lilting melody in the background seemed like a lucky omen for the trip and spoke of the promise it held.

Moving further out from Paris, I found love in a town called Neuberg between two people who had battled huge odds and waited 15 years to get married. To see the love they had for each other and to be around them was a real  privilege.

So yes, I found love; just not where I expected it to be. For it had nothing to do with a particular town or city. It existed in the hearts of people from different parts of the world. And the next time I feel like looking for love, I don’t need to buy an expensive plane ticket and travel halfway across the world;. I just need to look in my heart……….and the hearts of those around me.

This is the last in my series of posts about my trip to Paris and Germany. 21 posts since I started 6 months ago. Not an insignificant achievement and I thank you all for continuing to read and comment on my work. Your feedback helps me keep writing.

When I started this blog, I wanted to write about my love of food and how it linked into life and in the process try to understand myself a little better. I have achieved what I set out to do and now I feel a change in direction is required. I want to write less about food and more about life. I hope you will continue to be interested. Look out for the next post in the coming weeks.Thank you.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Madhawa says:

    What a romantic end to your tour de Paris! The priceless line that inspired me most was “And the next time I feel like looking for love, I don’t need to buy an expensive plane ticket and travel halfway across the world;. I just need to look in my heart……….and the hearts of those around me.” What eloquence! World class!
    All these posts remind me of the days we were “trying to translate” articles for Vijaya Science News Paper … How those swines further simplified what we had painstakingly written, and drove out the essence! What is worse was they failed to seize a great writer!

  2. Thank you as always my friend.Your comments are a real inspiration to me.And yes I do remember those days of translating articles for “Vidusara” Newspaper. My poor Sinhala writing skills maybe why they didn’t like my work. I remember your skills were far superior to mine though.Their loss I think……

Leave a Reply

