Seatbelt Sign Has Now Been Switched Off

If you have read my posts in the last few weeks, you will have noticed that I was flying through some turbulence. In fact a lot of turbulence. But now I have determined that it is time the seatbelt sign came off and normal service began.

Everything from my own ill health to my son needing an overnight hospital stay to broken friendships to losing all the data from my budgeting app on my iPod; it was complete chaos. I am hoping I don’t have to hear about anaesthetics, spinal taps, super bugs or brachycardia again for as long as I live. I am fed up with life dealing to me and want to turn things around.

The question is how. Being grateful for what I still have and living in the here and now would be a start. I found it surprisingly hard to do either when things were hurtling at me from every direction. All I had the strength for was to put one foot in front of the other and keep going with the minutiae of daily life. The onslaught has lessened and I can see things to be grateful for. Jacob made it through his General Anaesthetic, we have a plan of action regarding the diagnosis of his metabolic condition and I understand better about a positive diagnosis for MRSA. I have created space in my life for new things to come to my life and not being able to track my daily expenses is giving me a lesson in “going with the flow” and not being in complete control all the time.

I have made it through the first term at University and may even get an A- and the blog continues to be a source of inspiration to me. I have several good friendships and Jacob turns 7 next week. So I do have a lot to be grateful for and that realisation has given me the courage to say to the Universe that it can continue to throw things at me, but it will not bring me to my knees. I am taking off my seatbelt and getting on with my life……

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! I have not seen your blog for some time, but this summary said it all. What a time in life. Sometimes during such times of chaos, we can wonder what we have done “wrong” and why we are not handling things better. (I am not saying this is you- I have a tendency to do this.) It is so awesome to see you find the light in all of this. I can sense your strength in your words that you have found that power within that will transform this experience as well. Good luck.

    1. Thank you. Your words are a comfort and an inspiration.

  2. Madhawa says:

    I was so happy to read this. ‘Thumb’s up’ would be the only expression neeed here.

    1. Thanks. It was a long few weeks…..

  3. jesskho says:

    You are brave, you are strong and you made it through. Congrats. My autobiography is one month old today and i am opening up my page for friends and bloggers to share a sentence or two of their childhood memories so can you please pop by share yours to get it going? thank you 🙂
    http://littlegirlstory.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/grab-your-chance-to-share-your-childhood-memories/

    1. Thanks Jess. Congratulations to you too. Sure. Will do that for you.

  4. You are such an inspiration Sandamali. I am listening to Eckhart Tolle again, and focussing on accepting each moment and finding goodness there, which is just what you do. You’re my role model 🙂

    1. You guys are my inspiration:). Thank you.

  5. Shari Chen says:

    Keep up the positive attitude Sandamali. You were truly being “tested by fire”…Happy Birthday to Jacob next week and lots of love to you 🙂

    1. Thanks Thushari. Hope all is well with you too…

Leave a Reply

