Kindness

Image

It has been over a week since my last post. I went out of town for the weekend and then had an assignment to finish for University. I have a spare half an hour before I have to start dinner and it is pleasant to sit here on the sofa listening to the rain outside while I ponder what I am going to write about today.

I have seen the above saying many times on Facebook and elsewhere on the net. Recently its meaning was brought home to me when I thought about why people argue. Often we persist with putting our views forward in spite of opposition from the other party because we think we are right and we want them to acknowledge it. And sometimes after a long and violent argument the other party concedes you were right. But victory rings hollow. In the process of proving our point, we have both said many unkind things to each other, none of which can be taken back and the memory of which would haunt us both for many months to come. Sometimes the point is trivial as pointing out to the other person that they were being mean or unkind. And what do we do to prove our point? We show them unkindness ourselves. Now we have two people being unkind to each other and two lots of hurt. So how could we avoid all this….

I have decided next time I feel the overwhelming need show someone I am right, I will take a deep breath and just let go………..I believe that it is the most kind thing I can do and I would rather be kind than right:)

Leave a Reply

