Plans for the Coming Year

I know, it’s only November but I felt like devoting some time to what I wanted to achieve in the New Year. But first, I wanted to revisit my resolutions from last year which I set on the 20th of November after some major changes in my life. I won’t bore you with the details, but the resolutions centered around a few common themes:

  1. Expanding my social circle – establishing new connections and repairing and reinforcing old ones.
  2. Engage in interesting and fun activities when I didn’t have Jacob
  3. Improved personal care and health
  4. Nurturing my creativity
  5. Completing jobs around the home

I have done well in most areas and while I could do more around the home in terms of unfinished jobs, I am quite happy. I have several new friendships and a relationship. I have completed two papers in Anthropology at University and devote regular time to learning about spirituality. I have a better social life than I have ever had in my life and I write this blog every week as an expression of my creativity.

So this coming year, I want to do more of all of those things. But I also want to set myself some new goals…

1. Taking up a new hobby – swimming maybe

2. Learn a new skill – want to learn how to write apps

3. Find a new cause to help – decided I needed a change in direction – have a few ideas

4. Spend much of the summer outside as possible

5. Listen to a new piece of music every week

Just a few ideas to start with…I will refine them as I go. I like looking back after a few months and reminding myself of what my intentions were….

Do you do New Year Resolutions? Do they work for you? And when do you start thinking about them?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t do resolutions, but I do think it is important to do what you have done here- and that is reflect just how far we have come. It is easy to be always judging ourselves as falling short, when in actuality, we have made much progress. 🙂

    1. Thank you. It is easy to walk around the house and see all the unfinished jobs from last year feel like I have fallen short, but when I looked at the list, I realised I had achieved so much more….

  2. Jean says:

    I don’t really have NY’s resolutions –just hopes and desires for the next 12 months. It’s all floating in a vague cloud in my head and shifts when things happen during the year that I didn’t forecast.

    I find hopes and desires are more inspiring and motivating for me, instead of just a checklist of activities/tasks.

    My best wishes for a great 2014 and full of learning and community giving for you.

    1. Thank you for that wonderful wish. I wish you all the very best too and hope you find real joy in the little things in life….

Leave a Reply

