Living Authentically

I have a conundrum. The more I travel along my spiritual path, the less I want to write about it. This quote I came across this morning sums it up….

CountingI want to concentrate on the doing things that count and writing about them makes them feel less authentic. I know what I do each day; good or bad and the things l learn from them. When I first started the blog the revelations were so new to me, I wanted to shout from the roof tops. But during the last year the sharing has been tough. I have experienced a whole lot more; it is just that the experiences seemed too private to write about.

I am trying to live more and more in the present and practice gratitude. Most mornings are too hectic upon waking to remember to do this, but this is what I aspire to…

AliveI have realised that love is the answer to everything. This quote from Maya Angelou I read in my fellow blogger Jeff Moore’s post this morning says the same thing….

If you find it in your heart to care for somebody else, you will have succeeded. -Maya Angelou

I have learned to love others. And to forgive, because as this next quote says forgiveness and love go hand in hand…

You can’t forgive without loving. And I don’t mean sentimentality. I don’t mean mush. I mean having enough courage to stand up and say, ‘I forgive. I’m finished with it.’-Maya Angelou

 

But the biggest lesson I learnt was that you cannot love or forgive someone else without loving or forgiving yourself first….

That means forgiving yourself for all you have done in your life up till that point. Understand that you did whatever you did with the best knowledge you had at that time. And if the situation continues to give you pain know that it is in your power to change; either by walking away or changing how you feel about it. It is amazing how changing your perspective changes how you feel about something….

Another lesson I am still learning is that accepting the hand you have been dealt is essential to a life without suffering. The more you resist the more you suffer. I have always been someone who pushed through brick walls to make possible what I thought ought to happen. But the older I get, the more I understand that all sorts of things happen to us that are totally outside our control. And if you can accept it has happened, then you can continue to stay in the present without being mired in the past…..This has been the hardest thing to learn for me.,.I am a worrier by nature and it is difficult to stop my mind wandering….Even that I have learnt has to be approached differently. Instead of fighting to bring your mind back to the present, you observe where it is going and that serves to bring it back to the hear and now.

 

I am by no means enlightened. Just becoming more and more spiritually aware. At this present moment, I feel this tremendous urge to step back from the drama of everyday and take stock and focus to the light on my own being…..I hope I will continue to feel the urge to write from time to time. But in the meantime, I wanted to thank you all for being my loyal followers and readers for the past two years…Your support has meant everything to me….All my love….

2 Comments Add yours

  1. okiebuddhist says:

    I understand the privacy of spirituality well. Writing diminishes authenticity, as you say, but it may also open the door for others to see themselves blossom.
    Your words are doors for me!
    Peace,
    Okiebuddhist

    1. Thank you. Your words give me much heart….

Leave a Reply

