Kindness of Strangers

The week has been trending downward in an alarming manner and finally this afternoon, when Jacob left with his dad, I felt really sad…He had been unwell with the flu since Monday and after spending a sleepless night helping him deal with a blocked nose, I realised today he had passed it onto me. Then I found out my house auction has been postponed for a week…The prospect of being in limbo for another week was not appealing even though I knew that despite what the Real Estate Agent said, the real reason was probably because they didn’t have enough bidders to turn up at the auction. So it was actually good news for me.

I contemplated going to bed at 5.30pm but thought I would just feel worse if I did that. So mustering all the self discipline I could gather, I took myself off to the supermarket to buy some soy milk for my coffee tomorrow morning. While there I remembered I need milk and bread for Jacob, so got those. I was paying at the checkout when I realised I had actually forgotten to get the soy milk even though that was why I went there in the first place. I left my already paid for groceries in the care of the checkout operator and rushed off to buy it. As I queued up to pay, the lady in front of me turned and offered to let me through before her. When I hesitated, she smiled and said “go on, it is my good deed for the day”. That gesture and those words, changed my mood completely. I came home with a smile on my face. A random act of kindness by a stranger who had no idea what sort of a mood you were in or what sort of a day you have had, can make a world of difference. I was so glad I decided to go out and not stay in bed……:)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nick henderson says:

    A nice story.

    Date: Wed, 24 Sep 2014 07:27:24 +0000 To: nickh350@hotmail.com

    1. Thank you. The effect was so powerful, I just had to write about it…

Leave a Reply

