Decisions

The first two weeks of this year have already gone. I have been busy with car repairs and working on back up plans in case it proved to be beyond redemption. My usual mechanic was away, so a friend of my father’s helped replace both CV joints and the right shock absorber which was found be leaking oil. I picked up the car last Sunday, but it was still making the same thud thud sound as before. My dad though the other shock absorber needed to be replaced as well and we were just getting organised to take the car back to the mechanic on Thursday afternoon, when on Wednesday, catastrophe struck.

I was on my way to Toyota to check out a new Prius C, when about 6 minutes from my destination, the car made a really loud noise. The pin holding the left shock absorber had broken off and the whole thing was no longer connected to the car. Fortunately, I was in a place where I could immediately pull over onto the side lane and park. Again, fortunately, I had breakdown cover on my car insurance which meant I didn’t have to pay extra to have the car towed back to my house. With the car safely home, I took a taxi to Toyota, who weren’t very interested in selling me a car at the price I wanted. On the way home by bus, I surmised that the Universe had decreed I was not to buy a car that day. As I wasn’t paying attention to all the signals it was sending me, it went as far as causing to car to breakdown completely.

Now two days later, the car has been fixed and is driveble. I now have to decide whether I keep putting money into it or bite the bullet and buy a new one. And then of course there are the many decisions about which car to buy and how much to spend on it. Just to make life easier for myself, I have decided to check with Toyota and after much number crunching, I think I want to buy a pre-registered car which is about ten thousand dollars cheaper than a brand new one. The one I really like, the Prius C, is still about two thousand dollars more expensive than I like, so I am hoping it will become cheaper in a couple of months. I just need to make sure my Starlet is capable of lasting that long.

I learned a number of valuable lessons in these past few weeks. I know very little about cars, but I do know my car which I have driven for just under eight years. Next time something doesn’t sound quite right, I know to take it into get checked right away. Another lesson I learned is to take the car back to the mechanic if it is still making the same noise after they claim to have fixed it. I am very lucky that the car didn’t break down on the motorway and that a I was able to safely pull over. It might have been a different story if it had happened the previous afternoon on the Harbour Bridge when I was doing more than 80 km/hour.

 

Leave a Reply

