The Perfect Hour

I call this the Perfect Hour. Between dinner and bedtime on the days when Jacob is home. Everyone is fed and the dishes done. Too early for bedtime so we are both doing our own thing. It’s a lovely summer’s afternoon and I can still smell the chlorine from the pool in my hair.

The car troubles have settled down. I have decided to wait a couple of months to see how the car does before deciding whether I buy something else. There is talk of a global economic slowdown and it might not be a good time to increase my debt levels by buying a new car.

I am trying to go sugar free or at least eliminate chocolate, ice cream and other sugar added sweets from my diet. It is one of my resolutions for 2016 to cut down on my sugar consumption. The first two weeks or so were fine. Then last Monday, I woke up with pain around my big toe on my left foot. I joked with a friend that it might be gout. And curious to know what gout was, I checked it out online. Turns out it probably was gout. I thought only grumpy old men got gout. Looks like it was gout that had been causing foot problems for me long term. I had no idea. It is caused by the build up of uric acid in the cells. One of the causes of increased level of uric acid in the blood are Purines in our food., usually present in meat and seafood. When I went vegetarian just over a year ago, my foot pain disappeared, but I had not put two and two together. The possible reason it has come back now is the increased intake of fructose in my diet. There is information online which suggests that increased fructose levels causes an increase in uric acid build up.

I haven’t been to the doctor as the pain only lasted a couple of days, but I have become mindful of how much fruit I am consuming daily and also increased my water intake. Who knew being healthy could actually be painful.

Last night the chocolate cravings got unbearable. But like an alcoholic calling her AA sponsor from the bar, I text my friend who put me on the path to being sugar free. The thought of having to tell him I had some chocolate or ice cream was the only thing that stopped me raiding the fridge. But I got through it and this morning I bought some sugar free dark chocolate with Stevia. It’s a compromise.

I think the trick to staying on track is to make some healthy sugar free snacks like bliss balls and have them on hand for when the cravings strike. I am going to put some effort into it over the weekend.

In the meantime, it is still the school holidays and a chance to relax and chill out.20160116_203608

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jean says:

    I’m not doing well staying away from sugar…it’s EAster time..

    1. Don’t be too hard on yourself. I went hard out for 2 months, but have now allowed myself a bit chocolate now and then. Was feeling really deprived and was eating too many other things to feel satisfied. Defeated the whole purpose of trying to eat healthy…

Leave a Reply

